Abuse, Neglect & Exploitation

Florida seniors are often victims of abuse, neglect and financial exploitation. The issues are wide-ranging and include domestic violence, breaches of fiduciary duty by professionals and family, and financial scams which target vulnerable seniors. Those victimized are from all socio-economic levels and live throughout the State.

The Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation (ANE) Committee seeks to hear from and educate its members about the various faces of ANE and to determine how best to address the issues identified. The Committee focuses on currently available remedies and those yet to be developed. The Committee coordinates with the Legislative committee of the Elder Law and other relevant sections of the Bar for the benefit of Florida’s vulnerable seniors.

Co-Chair

David A. Weintraub

7805 SW 6th Ct
Plantation, FL 33324-3203
Office: 954-693-7577
Fax: 954-693-7578
Email: daw@stockbrokerlitigation.com

Co-Chair

Ellen L. Cheek

Bay Area Legal Services, Inc.
1302 N 19th St
Tampa, FL 33605-5230
Office: 813-232-1343 x121
Fax: 813-248-9922
Email:  echeek@bals.org

Members

Ivory Simpson – ivory.simpson@jpslegal.com
Karen Campbell – karen@campbelllawgroup.org
K. Ashley Roof – aroof@kirsonfuller.com
Edmund Gegan – edmund.gegan@geganoffice.com
Jeremy Soffler – jsoffler@gmail.com
Glenn M. Mednick – gmednick@mednicklawgroup.com
Jared Loucel – loucellaw@gmail.com
Lizzie Johnson – lizziej@clsmf.org
Jason Neufeld – jneufeld@nkplaw.com
Matthew Thibaut – mthibaut@ciklinlubitz.com
Marilyn (Lynn) Belo – lynn@mcbelolaw.com
Ada Aviles-Yaeger – ada@adafloridalaw.com
Cathy Lerman – clerman@lermanfirm.com
Katina Pantazis – katinap@lawkppa.com